Michigan Drivers License Restoration

Michael Klockow will help you get back on the road!


Michigan traffic Ticket Attorney Call us for a free phone consultation to discuss your options! We have helped many through the process of restoring their license to drive. As a client, we will be there to represent you and guide you through the steps and requirements necessary for a successful hearing or appeal. We have handled License Restoration cases state wide with over a 90% success rate. Our goal is getting you back on the road!


Michael can be reached by phone, and is available for free phone consultations from 9:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m., and urgent legal advice 24 hours.

License Restorations:

  1. Revocations for Multiple Drunk Driving Offenses, or Driving Under the Influence of Drugs (administrative hearing section, formerly driver assessment and appeal division)
  2. Implied Consent Hearings (administrative hearing section) for failure to take an alcohol test
  3. Hardship Appeals (Circuit Court) for:
    • Too many points, accidents, incompetency to drive
    • Failure to take an alcohol test (first implied consent)
    • Driving while license suspended
    • Probationary license suspensions
    • Physical or mental disabilities
  4. Driver Assessment / Reexamination Hearings / Denials
  5. Branch Office Hearings / Denials
  6. License restorations for multiple drunk driving (2 violations within 7 years, or 3 violations within 10 years)
  7. Habitual, alcohol/drug abuse
  8. Suspensions/revocations
  9. Driver assessment/reexamination hearings
  10. License restoration appeals to circuit court
  11. Implied consent hearings (Failure to take alcohol test)
  12. Hardship appeals to circuit court
  13. Suspensions for points or medical issues
  14. Driving while license suspended

Attention! Are you concerned about Points, Insurance or your Driving Record?

Contact Micheal Klockow for a FREE consultation!

(248) 390-3564


Revocation Reviews

Your driver license may be revoked when it is determined that you do not possess the physical, mental, or other qualifications necessary to operate a motor vehicle safely.

A revocation removes your privilege to drive for a minimum period of one or five years and is required by law upon conviction of certain driving offenses.

Once your revocation period has ended, your driving privilege will remain revoked until you attend a Driver Assessment reexamination. At this reexamination, you will be required to provide proof that the condition that caused your revocation is no longer present. Depending on the reason for revocation, you may be required to submit a substance abuse evaluation form, evidence of sobriety, or a physician's statement of examination. A written, vision, and on road performance test may also be required. If you are approved for re-licensure, you may be required to pay the appropriate licensing and reinstatement fees.

A driver assessment action or branch office denial

Driver Assessment actions and branch office denials are appealable to the Administrative Hearing Section within 14 days.

Driver License Restoration Appeal to Circuit Court

Hardship appeals are still available under MCL 257.323(3) in the case of:

  • A first implied-consent suspension under MCL 257.625f.
  • A Driver Assessment suspension or restriction under MCL 257.320 and MCL 257.310d.
  • A suspension imposed under MCL 257.904(10) or (11).
  • A denial under MCL 257.303(1)(d).

Habitual Alcohol and Drug Offenders

Under section 303 of the Michigan Vehicle Code [the Code; MCL 257.303] certain combinations of alcohol and/or drug-related convictions lead to a presumption that a person is a "habitual offender." The law requires the Secretary of State to revoke that person's driver license. The law also requires the Secretary of State to deny a license for that person until he or she meets certain conditions.

The types of convictions that lead to the presumption are:

  • Operating While Intoxicated, which includes:
    • Operating a vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs, or a combination of alcohol and drugs.
    • Operating a vehicle with a bodily alcohol content [BAC] of .08 or higher.
    • Operating a vehicle with a BAC of .17 or higher [High BAC].
  • Operating While Impaired by alcohol or drugs, or a combination of alcohol and drugs.
  • Operating a commercial vehicle with an alcohol content of .04 or higher.
  • A person less than 21 years old ("Zero Tolerance") operating a vehicle with:
    • An alcohol content of .02 or more, but less than .08
    • Any presence of alcohol in the body, other than from alcohol consumed as part of a generally recognized religious service or ceremony

Two of those convictions within 7 years, or 3 of them within 10 years, lead to the presumption. Only 1 Zero Tolerance conviction may count towards the combinations.

A conviction for an attempted offense is treated as if the offense were completed.

Convictions under local ordinances and other laws that substantially correspond to the provisions of the Code count towards the combinations. This covers both Michigan laws and ordinances and those of other states.

A first driver license revocation/denial is for a minimum of 1 year. A subsequent revocation/denial is for a minimum of 5 years, if it comes within 7 years of a previous revocation/denial.

After the minimum period of revocation/denial is over, the person may apply for a hearing

Driving While License Suspended, Revoked, or Denied

First Offense
  • Up to a $500 fine, or up to 93 days in jail, or both.
  • Mandatory additional license sanction.
  • 2 points added to the offender's driving record.
  • Driver Responsibility Fee of $500 for 2 consecutive years.
Second Offense
  • Up to a $1,000 fine, or up to 1 year in jail, or both.
  • Mandatory additional license sanction.
  • Vehicle may be immobilized for up to 180 days.
  • 2 points added to the offender's driving record.
  • Driver Responsibility Fee of $500 for 2 consecutive years.
Third Offense
  • Up to a $1,000 fine, or up to 1 year in jail, or both.
  • Mandatory additional license sanction.
  • 2 points added to the offender's driving record.
  • Driver Responsibility Fee of $500 for 2 consecutive years.
  • If there are 2 prior convictions within 7 years, there are additional consequences:
    • License plate confiscation.
    • Vehicle immobilization for 90 to 180 days.
Fouth Offense
  • Up to a $1,000 fine, or up to 1 year in jail, or both.
  • Mandatory additional license sanction.
  • 2 points added to the offender's driving record.
  • Driver Responsibility Fee of $500 for 2 consecutive years.
  • If there are 2 prior convictions within 7 years, there are additional consequences:
    • License plate confiscation.
    • Vehicle immobilization for 90 to 180 days.